Post by blaird on Aug 28, 2012 13:18:59 GMT -8
My Pilot was seriously wonded on the mission. If I am interpreting things correctly, I roll 1D6 upon landing. If I roll a 1, I then roll on House Rules SW-Recovery; If I roll 2-5 I roll on SW-Incapacitated. In any event, anything other than a 1 on the intial roll means I need a new pilot. Do you assign him, do I, or is my Co-Pilot promoted to 1LT and Pilot and a new Co-Pilot assigned?
You can either request a new pilot via the replacement crew request or you can nominate your copilot for promotion and move him into the pilot seat, and request a copilot via the replacement crew request, that is up to you as the crew commander. Personally if 1LT Tourville gets wounded I'll move my copilot and turn in a promotion request, and bring in a new copilot. For a SW crew member you will roll on the B1-4 Table to see if they recover, a 1 = recovery and 2-5 recovery but unable to fly, 6 = Died of wounds. As long as you rolled the 1 you move on to the Wound Recovery table.
I have some other rules questions:
1) Is the Bombadier assumed to be the chin gunner, or can I designate the Navigator? I'm assuming that since they are in the same compartment, they can change gun positions without penalty (other than requiring a 6 to hit with unfamiliar guns) as per rule 14.1.
For game purposes, the B-17G is identical in every respect to the B-17F used in the regular game except that the nose gun is replaced by the "chin turret". The chin turret is equipped with twin guns and may attack fighters approaching from both 10:30 Level and Low, all levels of 12:00, and both 1:30 Level and Low. Enemy fighters are hit on a die roll of "5" or "6". Chin turrets are affected by all hits that would otherwise affect the nose gun/ bombadier. Enemy fighters attacking from 12:00 High may not knock out the chin turret. Ammunition supply is the same as for the nose gun post.
As Such, the Chin Turret replaced the nose gun as the bombardier's gun.
I assume the Bombadier is unnavailable for manning any guns during the inbound turn in the target zone as he is busy lining up his bomb run. On the inbound turn in the target zone the sequence is Enemy Fighters/Flak. I assume outbound it is Flak/Enemy Fighters.
Yes, I was looking for that particular rule as I remember reading it, but it seems to be eluding me at the moment.
With my Pilot SW, he cannot perform his duties as per Rule 14.0. Does the Engineer have to be his replacement as per rule 14.2(c), or can someone else replace him since the Co-Pilot is still functional? Also, as long as the Co-Pilot is still functional is there a penalty to the Landing roll?
Yes the Engineer would be the replacement per Rule 14.2(c), Any crew member may fly the B-17 if the pilot and Copilot are both seriously wounded or KIA, but the first one to take over flying must be the Engineer. (Someone else may take over the top turret if tactically desirable)...
If I've interpreted the rules correctly over the years, then as long as one the pilot or copilot are stable able to fly then you don't lose their benefits or hurt landings.